The field organization has a two-tier network of field offices. The entire country is divided into eight zones, each under the charge of a Deputy Director-General of Mines Safety. There are three to four Regional offices under each zonal office. Each Region is under the charge of a Director of Mines Safety. There are in all 29 such Regional Offices. Sub-regional offices have been set up in important areas of concentrated mining activities away from Regional office. There are three such sub-regional offices, each under the charge of a Deputy Director of Mines Safety. Each Zone, besides having in-specting officers of mining disciplines has officers in electrical & mechanical engineering and occupational health disciplines.

Mines Act, 1952 and the Rules and Regulations framed thereunder are being regulated by the Directorate General of Mines Safety (DGMS).

The Occupational Safety, Health and Wefare of persons employed in the mines including Oil and Gas Mines are covered under the Mines Act, Rules and Regulations made thereunder.

DGMS has its head quarter at Dhanbad, Jharkhand with Eight Zonal Offices, Twenty Nine Regional Offices and Three Sub-regional Offices: